Drinking on duty

Would you? Are you allowed to?

Whilst on holiday with a family.

Slight (?!?) chaos but we won’t go there yet …

First night dinner. With kids and all. We’d arrived quite late and everyone was hungry so out to dinner we went. I was tired. The kids were tired. It was long past their bedtime. I knew I wasn’t about to get paid overtime but hey ho. Anyway .. I was pretty much told what to order .. the cheapest thing on the menu, no less … all of two mouthfuls of food (posh food). I was offered some wine by the boss. I said no. I would rather have been offered more food thanks. I was in charge of 2 over night. I was tired. Wine makes me sleepy. On an empty stomach wine would make me tipsy. I’m not much of a drinker. I very rarely drink. I do like the odd drink though, with a decent amount of food thanks. But, still, I said no.  To the wine. I wouldn’t have said no to the bread basket being passed around though.  It was banned. Apparently it was all the kids would have eaten if allowed (just say no…) so by that it meant sod me and my rumbling stomach. Hey ho.

The next day out and about, I was given a small pocket of time to go and sit down and relax. Armed with some cash off I went to get a drink. To the only place around for quite a distance. There, I met some others known to the family. They called me over to sit with them and offered to buy a drink, recommending what they had – a beer mixed with half juice. I agreed. Not thinking for a minute that it wasn’t a good idea – being a vaguely alcoholic drink. I wasn’t going to be driving, and the typical ratio of children to adults was one to one, although those thoughts never crossed my mind. So I enjoyed it, and a nice relaxed chat with them. No side effects, no tipsyness, no tiredness. Nothing. It was barely alcoholic.

Met back up with the boss and kids. Mentioned the others bought me a drink and what it was. No comment. Maybe a small half laugh like an acknowledgement to the fact I had spoken…

Next day. Lunch. I arrived and drinks were just being served. The others were there with their usual and offered to get me the same.  I said yes .. still not even thinking it was a problem .. not driving, wasn’t even going to be in sole charge of the kids, no chance of getting tipsy .. it is so juiced down that it’s barely alcoholic .. AND I could choose what to eat (stuff face in case of hunger later..)

.. the boss heard me say yes. Oh boy. Was I made to feel yay tall. Like a child. I ended up on water. Again. I’m an adult. A very responsible one. I’m not stupid. I’m not reckless. Yes, I’m a professional, but I’m also an adult. Okay, I do have to respect their thoughts/decisions etc, but is it not double standards that they get the said drink, and more, drink them, and look after children?

Day after .. see I’m confused now. Lunch again. This time I was offered one of those quick shot thingys. I don’t like them and was turning it down when the more easy going boss said, oh I’ll turn a blind eye. Go on have one. Actually, no thanks, I was turning it down because I really don’t like them. Not because you would expect me to say no as I was on duty.

No, it’s not the same as me being a paid professional. That I understand. But alcohol content of the beer drink was so so low. Geez, I turned down the wine, but a watered down beer with a big lunch? How to feel small. Drink water. Be a kid.

I’m obviously not a part of the crowd. I’m definitely not a part of the crowd. An adult I am. Respected as an adult? No. Respected as a nanny skivvy? Hmmm, that’s yet to be seen.

Leave a comment