It wasn’t me

I got the blame. It wasn’t me. I said so. The housekeeper backed me up. Some very expensive items of clothing have been shrunk. I’d never seen one of them. One I had seen and had washed but this was purely to try and soften the pretty much stuffed wool of the jumper. Trying to rescue it didn’t work, but the ruining of it wasn’t down to me. Another I had hand washed. It should have been dry cleaned but I’ve always gotten away with hand washing nearly all ‘dry clean’ only clothes. It looked tiny when I washed it and came out looking exactly the same. Fabric not ruined at all. Size unchanged from what it was when I first laid eyes on it, but definitely way smaller than it should have been. Somebody had obviously shrunk it. That somebody wasn’t me.

The housekeeper stuck up for me. She’d watched a previous nanny haul some of them out of the washing machine. Tut tut. And could safely say she’d seen her hand wash, and probably shrink, another one.

It’s not nice being hauled up for something you didn’t do. I was gutted when told I had shrunk and ruined them. Absolutely gutted. Once I checked which ones were being spoken about I felt better. I knew it wasn’t me. But I still feel crap that this was even mentioned. It wasn’t me. Someone else should have owned up to it to save me getting the full on blame, and the ‘I’m really disappointed’ line. I also think they should have thought about who else may have washed the items, not just me.

Ah well, onwards and upwards.

Leave a comment